(don’t read too much into this picture… :P)

14 As obedient children, do not be conformed to the passions of your former ignorance, 15 but as he who called you is holy, you also be holy in all your conduct, 16 since it is written, “You shall be holy, for I am holy.” [1 Peter 1:14-16]

I’m such a bad son. Oftentimes I forget that if God is our father, it is a natural conclusion that His children be like Him. It’s perfectly normal and common that we are called to be like God because we are His children. He is definitely not talking about an impossibility..

BUT why is it so seemingly hard? Why does it feel like a burden? Because when we hear “Be holy” we think about things to do rather than an identity to be. The older I get, the more I realize things about myself, and I am realizing more than ever that I am just like my mom and dad. My mom yawns when she gets nervous; I’m just like that. My dad is a very shy and careful person. He is also someone who loves just going home and being at home, rather than being out and about; I’m just like that. In many areas of my life, I didn’t decide to be the way that I am, I am very much the son of my mom and dad. I am like them, I am them in many ways..

When God says, “You shall be holy, for I am holy.” It’s not just a command or a task to be accomplished. It’s a promise that God will make happen. If indeed God is our father, then His spiritual DNA is in us and His Spirit resides in us, His identity is in us. Holiness is not a list of things to do and not do. Holiness is realizing and living in the reality that we are a son or daughter of our Heavenly Father, and little by little, we are becoming more and more like Him. Sometimes I go to church with my parents and every Sunday, there is always a fellow church-goer who comments, “Wow, you’re the son. 부몬님 달맜내 (You look just like your parents).” or “You’re definitely your dad’s kid.” Why? Because I look like my dad, there’s no mistaking it. I am just like my dad.

The more we grow as children of God, the more we will become and look like Him. We take on His character and personality. We start to exhibit His qualities. This means, less trying to follow a rule, and more realizing who you are and reminding yourself, “I am a son of God” or “I am a daughter of God.” My mom and dad love me, and love who I am becoming, and support me and cheer me on, and I am free to grow into their DNA, to become the best parts of them, to even grow from their mistakes and weaknesses. Likewise, our Heavenly Father loves you. He loves who you are becoming because He is supporting you and cheering you on and transforming you from the inside out.

We are free from judgment, free from shame and guilt, free from having to follow the rules and regulations, and we are free to live in the identity we now have. We are free to live boldly and lovingly and cheerfully. We are free to be like our Father in every single way.

But, then again, why is it so seemingly hard? Thank God there is grace for the difficult. B/c of His grace, He gives me the opportunity to be a better son each and everyday. [pp]

-ty

