Jeremiah 29:11-14 says, “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil to give you a future and a hope. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will hear you. You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart. I will be found by you, declares the Lord, and I will restore your fortunes and gather you from all the nation and all the places where I have driven you, and I will bring you back to the place from which I sent you into exile.”

This promise absolutely boggles my mind and wrinkles my brain.  It’s the promise and assurance that those who seek God will find him. If it’s such a sure promise, why do we have such a hard time believing it? All fear would be gone. All trepidation would melt away. What would I wait for? It’s not a lottery. It’s not a gamble. I won’t be disappointed. I will succeed. I will find. I will enjoy. Therefore I will go.  

When we seek God he will be found. And when found he will be treasured.  And when treasured we will be filled – our cups overflowing. And when filled I will continue to seek God. The pattern is obvious, the logic clear but my sinful heart still longs for other things.

When I seek idols they will be found.And when found they will demand everything from me. And when empty handed I will be left longing for more. And when longing for more I will continue to seek idols.The pattern is obvious, the logic clear but my sinful heart prefers this self torture. It’s a kind of spiritual sadism.  

Teach us Lord by way of the gospel the futility of idols and the infinite joy of having sought and found you, our great treasure and reward. 

